Why Are Anti-Religious Books Bestsellers?

An interesting article as Dennis Prager provides his thoughts on why anti-religious books have become so popular.

In just the last few months, three books attacking belief in God and making a case for atheism have been national best sellers: The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins; God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything by Christopher Hitchens; and Letter to a Christian Nation by Sam Harris. A fourth book, Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon by Daniel C. Dennett also sold very well.In my opinion — and I dialogued with three of the four authors on my radio show (Dawkins has refused to come on) — the arguments put forth are far more emotional than intellectual, and even secular liberal journals have written devastating reviews of the Hitchens and Dawkins books.It is not due to their eloquence, originality or persuasiveness that these books have become best sellers. I believe other factors are at work. And they are:”

To read more click here.

14 Responses to Why Are Anti-Religious Books Bestsellers?

  1. jules says:

    I think the reason is because many Americans are tired of the hate speech that comes out of evangelical, extremist Christian doctrine which has drifted so far from the original teachings of Jesus they may as well be driving suicide missions into the public square. Julian

  2. Chris says:

    What hate speech is there that comes out of Christian doctrine? Please be specific. By the way you may notice that your comment is hate speech. The very thing you are putting down evangelicals for with no evidence.

  3. jules says:

    Sorry Chris. I didn’t mean for my comment to come across as hateful. I’m just stating an answer to the question (title of this post) based on my opinion and evidence that I’ve seen from independent and corporate news services, bloggers, co-workers, friends, etc. Sorry, I don’t have all those attributions at my fingertips.

    I just think the reason Anti-Religious Books are bestsellers is because much of America sees a contradiction between what extremist, evangelical Christianity espouses (i.e. Fred Phelps / Westboro Baptist Church on the very extreme) and what Jesus taught, which is to love each other. That’s all… no hatin’ goin’ on here. Peace, brother. Jules.

  4. Chris says:

    Thank you for the comment. Do you think that what, as you stated, “independent and corporate news services, bloggers, co-workers, friends, etc.” are saying is true?

  5. jules says:

    Do I think what “independent and corporate news services says is true”?… not always. They have an agenda just like everyone else and as such omit or spin the information they disseminate. Everyone… everyone has an agenda. And you can usually boil down the source of that agenda to one of, or all of, these few things: 1) money 2) power 3) ego. Again, i refer back to extremist, evangelical Christians and the way (and why they do it that way) they disseminate the teachings of the Bible. In my opinion they hit all three.

    Do I think what friends, co-workers, bloggers say is true?… i think the feelings they have are true. Whether they are misguided or uninformed is a different thing altogether. This applies to anyone. Perhaps I myself am even misguided or uninformed (actually I’m quite certain I’m uninformed about a lot of things but I’m doing my best to keep an open mind and keep up on as much knowledge as I can) but my feelings about certain issues are true. Just as your feelings toward certain issues are valid and true… regardless of how uninformed or misguided you may be.

  6. Chris says:

    Thank you for your comments. I am just trying to understand your view better. Who are these “extremist, evangelical Christians” you are talking about? And what are they saying/doing? Are you a Christian? It is nice to talk with you. Thanks again

  7. jules says:

    Hey… it’s good talking with you, too, Chris.
    So am i a Christian.
    Well, I am a Christian in that I believe in the teachings that are attributed to Jesus of Nazareth. (by the way… many of those teachings also are attributed to the Buddha, Krishna, Zoroaster who are among a few prophets who pre-date Jesus of Nazareth by several centuries).

    I am a Christian in that I try to lead a Christ-like life.

    I do not feel the need to say that a man is my personal savior, however.

    So I guess you can pick your answer from what i’ve said above as to whether I’m a Christian or not.

    Let’s see… you asked, “So who are these extremist, evangelical Christians”

    Some notables are:
    Eric Robert Rudolph
    Clayton Waagner
    James Charles Kopp
    Army of God,
    ex- Presbyterian minister Paul Jennings Hill,
    Michael F. Griffin (who ironically was born on Sept 11)
    Rev. Michael Bray
    Lakewood Park Bible Camp the link here shows hate Chris. What this camp is teaching is hate. Doesn’t matter if you cloak it by saying it comes from God. Hate is hate no matter how you package it.

    Those are some nasty, bad guys. Again, on the extreme. There are some great Christian people. Heck, i have lots of friends who are Christians. 🙂 (that’s supposed to be a joke Chris… you know the way people poke fun now at how people used to say in the 70’s “I’m not a racist. I have lots of black friends.”) ok, maybe that was a bad joke. 😐 sorry.

    So what are they doing:

    sorry for such a long response.

  8. Chris says:

    Thank you very much for the comments. Based on your answer to the question you are not a Christian. I appreciate that you try to live a good life. I am not familiar with the individuals you list. I will tell you that there are many evil people that hijack religions. Just because someone says they are a Christian does not mean they really are one. Anyway, if you would like to discuss this more or have any questions for me then feel free to email me at familyactionorganization@gmail.com.

  9. Dilip says:

    It is just a sudden recent event….Cannot even believe where you get your statistics from..Bible is the best selling book ever……Strange how conveniently you forgot this.???

  10. Chris says:

    What is your point?

  11. Dilip says:

    Duuuuhhhh!!!!!?????My point being…. Anti-religious books were never the best sellers, only until recently, but a religious book called bible is the best ever selling book . Just like you got most of the facts in your blog wrong, you got this also wrong.Sorry for the accusation but I suggest you check your blog’s facts…errr..i mean fiction rather. You are twisting the facts, actually World sales of the bible are more than 100 million every year. The bible is the best-selling book every year. Lemme surprise you….I’m an atheist…..Be happy according to you I’m going to hell….anyway….finally after reading most of your blog all I can say is people like you without any proper evidence rant all nonsense, Finally I’ve to say this, I’m scared ..scared of people like you, who propogate such fundamentalistic views on religion, abortion, stem cell research. You guys can never understand how much help stem cell research can do to our mankind. Get over it…..there is no soul in stem cells…Get over it…if u worried about harming life stop eating chicken and lamb and beef. Yes..yes i’m going way out of line I know…sorry about that..but this is a request from people like me to you to stop your silly pointless evangelism. If there was a just proper god he would not make me think like this and would have made me like you. Boy!!!!!!!!!GLAD AMD I AM PROUD TO BE AN ATHEIST.

  12. Chris says:

    Dilip,

    Thank you for the comment. You are correct. The bible is the best selling book of all time. I am not sure what else you are trying to say there.

    I know that you are an atheist. Why are you an atheist by the way? Have you always been an atheist?

    By the way I am not happy that you are going to hell. I pray for you and others like you daily.

  13. Dilip says:

    Why I’m an atheist????…Well ….I donno …just common sense I guess, lack of evidence may be. It was a gradual change.. I was religious, actually my parents told me I was a Hindu..unlike you who were born again or born christian. My paretns were not soo orthodox in religion, But my caste is called Bhramins, who are kind of strict religious people in India. Well……as time went on at around the age of 16..I started to not take religion seriously. And as time went on…I just felt much freedom in not believing than in believing. Thats it actually…

  14. Chris says:

    Dilip,

    I appreciate you being open to discussing your background and belief system. It is nice to talk with you.

    As far as the comments you made….I am not sure how common sense can bring you to the belief that man evolved from random chance?

    And you stated there is a lack of evidence there is a god. What evidence is there for atheism? What evidence have you studied? The core of the Christian faith is the death and resurrection of Jesus. Have you ever studied this? Have you ever read the book Case for the Ressurection of Jesus by Dr. Gary Habermas? If challenge you to read this book and discover whether there is truly evidence or not?.

    I am surprised you feel more freedom in not believing than in believing. How are you free in atheism and not in theism?

    What it really all boils down to is something extremely serious – When we die, if you are right, I’ve lost nothing. If I’m right, you have lost everything.

    I pray you will continue your search and that you will find the truth. Good luck to you, Chris

Leave a Reply

