Book Review: The Case for the Real Jesus: A Journalist Investigates Current Attacks on the Identity of Christ by Lee Strobel

A Journalist Investigates Current Attacks on the Identity of Christ

I was blessed recently to receive an advance copy of Lee Strobel’s soon to be released book, The Case for the Real Jesus.  I read this book within a few days because every time I picked it up I simply could not put it down.  I am reading it a couple more times because there is so much outstanding material to absorb.  It is another outstanding book from someone who has become one of my favorite authors.

I became a big fan of Lee’s several years ago when I read The Case for Christ.  This book had a huge impact on my life.  It strengthened my faith immeasurably and gave me an insatiable desire for studying Christian apologetics.  I have since read other books by Lee Strobel, such as The Case for Faith, The Case for a Creator, The Case for Easter and The Case for Christmas.  I have found all of Lee’s books to be incredibly powerful with  loads of evidence for the Christian faith.     

The Case for the Real Jesus: A Journalist Investigates Current Attacks on the Identity of Christ is an investigation by Lee Strobel, a former Yale Law School graduate, award-winning legal editor for the Chicago Tribune and spiritual skeptic until 1981.  In this book Lee tackles hot topics, such as:

Did the church distort ancient non-biblical documents that paint a more accurate picture of Jesus that the four Gospels?

Did the church distort the truth about Jesus by tampering with early New Testament texts?

Do new insights and explanations finally disprove the resurrection?

Have fresh arguments disqualified Jesus from being Messiah?

Did Christianity steal its core ideas from earlier mythology?

Lee provides the reader with the evidence to evaluate the arguments and evidence being advanced by prominent atheists, liberal theologians, Muslim scholars, and others.  Sift through the expert testimony and then reach your own verdict.

For me the evidence led to where it always has since I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior at an early age.

Sadly, we live in a time where so many attempt to re-write history and change the truth about Jesus.  Everyone wants to put their own spin on Him to fit their agendas. 

I highly recommend this book to both skeptics and believers.  Whether you are a skeptic or believer you have to respect Lee’s forthrightness in being open and honest in tackling the tough questions.  He is an excellent writer, a very effective communicator and this is another fine piece of work from him.  I look forward to reading this one a few more times and to his next one.

Leave a Reply

