Irvin apologizes for dropping ball

In case you missed it this past weekend Michael Irvin gave a very emotional speech during his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  It appears Michael has found God and turned his life around. It is never too late. I wish him well.

From Rick Gosselin and the Dallas Morning News.

“Michael Irvin was often Superman on the football field for the Cowboys.

But Irvin exposed himself as very human – and very fallible – in the greatest moment of his athletic career Saturday night, his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

After touching on his successes on the football field, Irvin dwelled on his failures as a person, as a husband and a father. He spoke directly to his wife, Sandi, and his two sons, Michael and Elijah, in cathartic moments viewed by a Cowboy-friendly crowd of 12,787 at Fawcett Stadium and a national television audience.

“There’s a lot of kidding that goes on up there on the stage,” said Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, who sat behind the podium with the other presenters, enshrinees and visiting Hall of Famers. “But when Michael was talking, you could hear a pin drop.”

For good reason. Irvin talked about failing his wife and two sons. He talked about marriage being “for better or for worse” and apologized to Sandi for giving her far too much of the “for worse.”

“But through it all, I experienced the depth of your love, and I thank God for you,” said Irvin directly to his wife, his eyes welling. “I love the mother you are, the wife that you are. I love the way you take care of our family. I thank you … for keeping our family together.”

Irvin finally broke down in tears 21 minutes into his 26-minute speech when he talked about failing his sons.

“I tell you guys to always do the right thing so you can be a better role model than your dad,” said Irvin to Michael and Elijah, who were both wearing No. 88 T-shirts honoring their father.

Irvin regained his composure after the ceremony but continued to cling to the emotional chord of his evening.

“It was real,” he said. “I thought I needed to share all that has gone on in my life. I wanted to let people know where I am, what I think about and the things that I go through.

“People think, ‘You did all this stuff and you still made the Hall.’ They think, like, I got away with something. I didn’t get away with anything. It haunts me. It haunts me all the time. I worry about it reaching my boys. I’m afraid of them ever Googling me and reading about it. It’s something I live with every day.”

Google would provide his sons information about the parties, the women and the drugs of their father’s turbulent past. But that’s a chapter he has already left behind in life – in large part because of the spiritual guidance of Bishop T.D. Jakes, the first person Irvin thanked in his speech.”

To read more click here.

Leave a Reply

